loading . . .
Search for tracks, artists, albums

Quick links

My library
artist page

Portico Quartet

Portico Quartet are a band from London. Their sound is made partially distinctive by the use of the Hang, a 21st century percussion instrument. The group is composed of Jack Wyllie (soprano and tenor saxophone), Duncan Bellamy (drums), Milo Fitzpatrick (double bass), and Keir Vine (Hang and percussion). Nick Mulvey, former Hang player and percussionist, left in early 2011 to pursue his career as singer-songwriter. He is replaced by Keir Vine. After nearly two years of playing mainly small gigs and busking regularly outside the National Theatre in London, they signed to Babel Label in 2007. Their first album, Knee-deep in the North Sea was released on 5 November 2007. They are now signed to Real World Records. The name portico comes from when one of their gigs was rained off in Italy, and they ended up playing under a portico. Their third, most recent, eponymously titled album was released on January 30, 2012. Knee-deep In The North Sea: The band's debut album 'Knee-deep in the North Sea' was nominated for the 2008 Mercury Music Prize. The week after the awards show it debuted on the UK Top 200 Albums Chart at #186. It was Time Out's best jazz album of 2007. It was re-released by Real World Records on 31 January 2011. The album has been remixed by John Leckie and was the first time sold on vinyl and as deluxe edition with three extra (live) tracks on CD. Credits: Recorded and Mixed at Livingston Studios, London on 7, 8, 9 February and 6, 7, 8 August 2007, Produced by Portico Quartet, Co-Produced, Engineered and Mixed by Sonny., Assisted by Kevin James Feazey and Simone Filiali, Mastered by Andrew Tulloch at The Blue Studio, London, Executve Producers Oliver Weindling and Will Gresford, Design, Artwork and collages by Duncan Bellamy, Photograph by Matt Crossick Track listing: All tracks composed, arranged and performed by Portico Quartet. "News From Verona" - 4:24, "(Something's Going Down on) Zavodovski Island" - 4:22, "Knee-Deep In The North Sea" - 4:52, "Too Many Cooks" - 5:32, "Steps In The Wrong Direction" - 6:09, "Monsoon: Top To Bottom" - 4:14, "The Kon Tiki Expedition" - 4:29, "Cittàgazze" - 4:47, "Pompidou" - 3:08, (Hidden Track: "Prickly Pear" - 5:47) Isla: The band's second album 'Isla' was released by Real World Records on 9 October 2009. Credits: Recorded at Abbey Road Studios and Fish Factory Studios, May 2009, Produced by John Leckie, assisted by Chris Bolster at Abbey and Desmond Lambert at Fish Factory, Mixed by John Leckie and Portico Quartet, except Shed Song (Improv. 1), recorded at the end of our garden, 20.01.09, Mixed at Real World Studios, assisted by Robin Baynton, Mastered by Steve Rooke at Abbey Road Studios, Painting, artwork and design by Duncan Bellamy Track listing: All tracks composed, arranged and performed by Portico Quartet. "Paper Scissors Stone" - 5:27, "The Visitor" - 5:31, "Dawn Patrol" - 6:00, "Line" - 7:30, "Life Mask (Interlude)" - 1:16, "Clipper" - 6:31, "Life Mask" - 7:17, "Isla" - 5:09, "Shed Song (Improv. No 1)" - 8:23, (Bonus Download Track: "Su-Bo's Mental Meltdown" - 5:50) Portico Quartet: The band's eponymous third album was released by Real World Records on 30 January 2012. Credits: Recorded at Fish Factory Studios, August 2011, Produced by Portico Quartet, Mixed at Real World Studios by Greg Freeman and Portico Quartet, Mastered by Mandy Parnell at Black Saloon, Artwork and design by Duncan Bellamy Track listing: All tracks composed, arranged and performed by Portico Quartet (except 'Steepless' written by Cornelia Dahlgren and Portico Quartet). "Window Seat" - 3:18, "Ruins" - 5:34, "Spinner" - 4:39, "Rubidium" - 8:44, "Export For Hot Climates" - 1:08, "Laker Boo" - 7:51, "Steepless ft. Cornelia" - 3:57, "4096 Colours" - 4:35, "City of Glass" - 6:36, "Trace" - 1:53

Now Playing: