loading . . .
Search for tracks, artists, albums

Quick links

My library
artist page


Havok is an American thrash metal band from Denver, Colorado. Formed in 2004, their members currently consist of David Sanchez (Vocals/guitars), Mike Leon (Bass), Pete Webber (Drums), and Reece Scruggs (Lead guitar). Since signing with England's Candlelight Records, Havok have released two studio albums: 2009's Burn, and 2011's critically acclaimed, Time Is Up. History edit: David Sanchez's love of thrash metal greats, like Metallica, Megadeth, and Slayer, led him to form Havok with classmate and drummer, Haakon Sjogren. The duo searched for a lead guiatarist by putting up fliers around the Denver area, and local guitarist Shawn Chavez joined the band. Eventually, they rounded out their first lineup with Marcus Corich on bass, and in 2004, Havok recorded their first demo, "Thrash Can". In 2006 they self released a single, "Murder by Metal". By 2007 Tyler Cantrell had taking up the role as bassist, and Rich Tice on drums. On September 19, with this new line-up in place, Havok released their first self-released EP, "Pwn Them All". In December 2007, Havok sent a copy of their EP and a press kit to any metal label they could find. The EP had caught the ear of English extreme metal label, Candlelight Records, and soon after the band agreed to join them. Havok hired drummer, Ryan Bloom, and in the fall of 2008, new bassist, Jesse De Los Santos. On June 2, 2009 Havok released their full length debut, "Burn". However, Ryan Bloom left the band in April, before the release of "Burn". To replace him, they hired the hard hitting, Pete Webber. "Burn" was received quite well in the metal community, but it did not yet break them into the global metal scene. Havok would release two singles off of "Burn", "Fatal Intervention" and "Scumbag in Disguise". The band was set to begin touring with Primal Fear on May 20, 2010 at New York's Gramercy Theater, but guitarist Shawn Chavez quit the band the same day. Instead of jumping boat, Sanchez took up learning all the solos, and Havok toured as a trio. In September, Winchester, VA shredder Reece Scruggs joined the band as their new lead guitarist. After touring in support of "Burn", Havok returned to the studio to record their sophomore effort. On March 29, 2011 Havok released "Time Is Up". "Time Is Up" spread through the metal community, receiving strong reviews from critics and fans alike. It became a defining album in what has come to be known as the New Wave of Thrash Metal scene. The success of "Time Is Up" has led the band to major tours opening for bands like Thrash Metal veterans Forbidden, alongside Revocation and White Wizzard; as well as tours opening for Sepultura , Death Angel , Anthrax , The English Dogs , The Casualties , Goatwhore , 3 Inches of Blood , Skeletonwitch and Exhumed. 2012 was wrapped up for the band by playing the first Barge to Hell cruise featuring bands At the Gates , Behemoth , Mayhem , Possessed , Exodus and Sacred Reich to name a few. After over a year of heavy touring, Havok returned home to Denver with plans to record their next album. Havok was invited to open for Testament's 'Dark Roots of Thrash' tour at their Denver show after Overkill was forced to drop from the tour due to singer Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth falling ill. Fans were introduced to Havok's new bassist, Mike Leon, after Jesse left the band to spend time with family. Havok began recording their newest album in the spring of 2013. On May 8th they announced the new album will be released on June 25th, and will be named "Unnatural Selection". They plan three special record release performances in Colorado the week before. Members edit: Current members David Sanchez - vocals/guitars (2004-present), Reece Scruggs - Lead guitars (2010-present), Pete Webber - Drums (2010-present), Mike Leon - Bass (2013-present), Former members Jesse De Los Santos - Bass (2009-2013)

Now Playing: