loading . . .
Search for tracks, artists, albums

Quick links

My library
artist page

Susanne Sundfor

Susanne Sundfør is a Norwegian singer/songwriter who was born and grew up in Haugesund, Norway. An art pop musician who is known for combining orchestral and electronic elements in her music, she has established herself as one of Norway's most important artists. Susanne Sundfør masters both jazz and classical music, and she has developed her own style of uncomprimising pop incorporating elements from both these genres. In march 2007 she released her self-titled album "Susanne Sundfør", which received positive reviews. She won the prize for "best female vocalist" at the Norwegian Grammy Awards in 2008. The same year, an acoustic version of her debut, recorded in one take and named "Take One", was released. Sundfør's second album is entitled "The Brothel", and was released on March 15, 2010. The album was a step up from her largely acoustic debut, and received positive reviews from the Norwegian music press. Its success was helped particularly by the popularity of the lead single, the title track. Two years later, after releasing the live instrumental album "A Night At Salle Pleyel", Sundfør released the lead single for her third album, "White Foxes". "The Silicone Veil" was another step forward, including heavier use of electronics, a chamber orchestra in Trondheimsolistene and more complex song structures. Sundfør saw her international breakthrough in 2015 with the release of the critically acclaimed "Ten Love Songs". The album was more direct and accessible than her previous efforts, but still had a distinctively dark undertone. Subsequently becoming somewhat of a cult classic, the album spawned successful singles in "Fade Away", "Delirious", "Kamikaze" and "Accelerate". The album won Sundfør three prizes at the Norwegian Grammy Awards. For her fifth studio album, "Music for People in Trouble", the singer-songwriter returned to her roots in folk and country music, as evident in the lead single "Undercover". The album was another success for Sundfør, winning the Nordic Music Prize in 2018.

Now Playing: