loading . . .
Search for tracks, artists, albums

Quick links

My library
artist page

The Lovin' Spoonful

The Lovin' Spoonful is a pop/rock band that was formed in New York City, New York, United States in 1965. The band consisted of John Sebastian (vocals, autoharp), Zal Yanofsky (guitar), Steve Boone (bass) and Joseph Campbell Butler (drums). Yanofsky left the group in 1967 and was replaced by Jerry Yester, and Sebastian left the group in 1968. The band issued five albums and two film soundtracks before they split in 1969. They were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2002. Their best known songs include "Summer In The City", "Do You Believe In Magic?", "Darling Be Home Soon", and "Daydream". The band reunited in 1991 and continue to perform without Sebastian, who has declined to participate, and Yanofsky, who died in 2002 The band's name was inspired by lyrics from Mississippi John Hurt's "Coffee Blues" and drew influence from contemporary folk and psychedelic music while also inspiring later rock bands. A more complete history of this seminal New York band can be found on their official site: lovinspoonful.com

Now Playing: