loading . . .
Search for tracks, artists, albums

Quick links

My library
artist page

Wax Poetic

Not to be confused with Wax Poetics. This article needs additional citations for verification. Please help improve this article by adding citations to reliable sources. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. (July 2012) Wax Poetic is a New York-based trip-hop band. The band came together in 1997 founded by Turkish music guru Ilhan Ersahin who is still a current member, playing tenor saxophone and keys. The group originated at the popular and now defunct club Save the Robots, and consisted of a volatile group of musicians jamming together to create a heavy groove of drum 'n' bass blended with quick dance elements. Ersahin and company signed to Atlantic in the latter '90s and released their debut self-titled album in June 2000. Pop singer/pianist Norah Jones was a member before her break-out album Come Away with Me. Other former members include N'Dea Davenport and Saul Williams. Jones can still be heard singing with them on two tracks of their 2003 release, NuBlu Sessions. Current members are Thor Madsen (guitar and beats), Jesse Murphy (bass), Jochen Rueckert (drums), and Marla Turner (vocals). The newest CD, Copenhagen, was just released November 7, 2006 and the sound has been compared by Amazon.com to Garbage. Part of a three part series, this CD is followed up with Istanbul and Brasil. Ilhan, Thor, and Jochen combined with Erik Truffaz and Matt Penman to create the band Our Theory.

Now Playing: