loading . . .
Search for tracks, artists, albums

Quick links

My library
artist page

Noora Noor

Noora Noor aka Noora (born July 8, 1979) is a Somalian-Norwegian neo soul singer. She is often noted as Norway's Queen of Soul. Noor started early on her musical journey, performing locally from the age of 8. She got a recording contract with Warner Music at only 15. She then began working with Stargate_(production_team) to make her first album. The success of the album launched Stargate's international career as R&B/Soul producers. Her debut album, Curious, was released in 1999 and became one of the first notable Scandinavian R&B albums. The single "Need You" was also played constantly on "The Lick" on MTV. Curious became a success also in Japan with more than 40,000 sales. It took five years until the release of her second album, All I Am, in 2004, as Noor became seriously ill. The album included more self-penned songs, written in collaboration with US and UK songwriters. She is also featured on Madcon's 2007 album So Dark the Con of Manand some Tommy Tee releases. Noor has also played Maria Magdalen in a big outdoor version of Jesus Christ Superstar. Her most recent album, Soul Deep, was released in Norway in March 2009 to rave reviews (6 on the dice in Norway's major daily VG). Recorded in San Jose, California, with local blues and soul musicians, it also features members of Little Charlie & The Nightcats. The producer was Kid Andersen, the Norwegian band's guitar virtuoso. The album was released outside Norway during 2010, with the first release, in Benelux, in April/May 2010. In March 2011 she participated in the Norwegian competition of Eurovision Song Contest 2011 with the song "Gone with the wind" Discography Albums edit: 1999: Curious, 2004: All I Am, 2009: Soul Deep, Awards edit: Hitawards (1999): 'Female Artist of the Year', Natt og Dag prisen (1999): 'Best Live Artist', Spellemannsprisen (2009): 'Female Artist of the Year' (Norwegian Grammy Award), Most popular singles edit: Official (Curious), Need You (Curious), Zeros (All I Am), Feelin it (Single with Tommy Tee and Jo Jo Pellegrino 2007), Forget what I said (Soul Deep 2009), Funky Way (Soul Deep 2009), What man have done (2010), Gone with the wind (2011), Also appear on edit: The Con of Man - Madcon, Old Angel Midnight - Paal Flaata (2008), Elias og Kongeskipet (movie and CD- single), The Princess and the Frog (Disney 2010 - Norwegian version)

Now Playing: