grey light
my library
my music
my favorites
my playlists
Oi Va Voi

Digital Folklore


play album
add to favorites
Oi Va Voi is a British band that takes its name from a Yiddish-derived exclamation popular in modern Hebrew meaning, approximately, "Oh, dear!" It is an experimental band from London, England, which formed in the late 1990s. Their sound draws on Jewish music from both the Ashkenazic and Sephardic traditions, including both klezmer and Judaeo-Spanish music, as well as Eastern European, especially Hungarian folk music, as well as contemporary electronic music. Current band members edit: Nik Ammar (guitars, mandolin, vocals, production), Josh Breslaw (drums, percussion, production), Matt Jury (bass), Steve Levi (clarinet, vocals), David Orchant (trumpet), Guests: Anna Phoebe (violin), Lucy Shaw (bass), Bridgette Amofah (vocals), Alice McLaughlin (vocals), Former band members edit: Sophie Solomon (violin, viola, piano, accordion, melodica), a founding member of the band who left in 2006 to launch her solo career., Lemez Lovaz (trumpet, vocals, piano, songwriting, lyrics), songwriter and lyricist, a founding member of the band who left in 2007., Leo Bryant (bass), Associated acts edit: Anna Phoebe, Maiya James of Spengler, Earl Zinger (a.k.a. Rob Gallagher) of Galliano featured on the Laughter Through Tears album, KT Tunstall, though never an official member of the band, featured on the Laughter Through Tears album and was a regular member of the live set-up. Her solo career then took off towards the end of 2004., Uzbek musician Sevara Nazarkhan featured on the Laughter Through Tears album, Haylie Ecker
Releases from Oi Va Voi Radio Live: